Sega Announces Genesis Classic Collection: Gold Edition

Sega Announces Genesis Classic Collection: Gold Edition

by February 17, 2011

In Case You Didn’t Own the Googolplex of Other Re-Releases

From the department of Why? comes another round of re-releases from Sega that ultimately serves as a re-release of several re-releases.

Dubbed the Sega Genesis Classic Collection Gold Edition–replace with Mega Drive as needed depending on where you live–it will include the 46 titles released across four volumes of the past collections.  That includes Sonic 1, 2, the combined Sonic 3 & Knuckles, Sonic Spinball, and the Genesis port of Sonic 3D Blast.  There is far more to play, detailed in the list below.

The Gold Edition will be available for PC on a physical disc, starting March 15th.  Rehashing the catalogue seems to be the new normal for Sega, though to their credit, it is doing well for the games division financially.  Sega may very well run out of names to call these compilations first, before running out of the rehashes themselves.

The collection includes:

Volume 1

Golden Axe™
Altered Beast™
Comix Zone™
Ecco The Dolphin™
Gain Ground™
Shinobi III™: Return of the Ninja Master
Sonic The Hedghog™
Crack Down™
Space Harrier II™

Volume 2

Ecco Jr.™
Fatal Labyrinth™
Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle™
Bonanza Bros.™
Super Thunder Blade™
ESWAT™: City Under Siege
Kid Chameleon™
Golden Axe™ 2
Galaxy Force II™
Sonic the Hedgehog™ 2

Volume 3

Bio-Hazard Battle™
Columns III: Revenge of Columns™
Sword of Vermilion™
Virtua Fighter 2™
Ecco: The Tides of Time™
Alien Storm™
Decap Attack™
Sonic 3 & Knuckles™
Sonic Spinball™

Volume 4

Shining Force™
Wonder Boy III: Monster Lair™
Dr. Robotnik’s Mean Bean Machine™
Streets of Rage™
Streets of Rage™ 2
Alien Soldier™
Light Crusader™
Sonic 3D Blast™
Gunstar Heroes™
Shining Force II™
Shining in the Darkness™
ToeJam & Earl™
ToeJam & Earl in Panic on Funkotron™